My second kumihimo bracelet

I decided to make a second kumihimo bracelet with blue and silver beads. Many years ago I would have preferred this color combination over the other one, but my tastes have evolved. I now think having them both be silver-lined makes the colors blend together in one shiny mess.

P1130450q

Then I found other kumihimo patterns and decided to try the wider spiral. I think it works better with these colors because they are farther apart so there is more contrast. This bracelet looks better from a distance.

P1130708q

This time I used a disk template from CraftDesignOnline.com and glued it onto a cardboard circle. Having evenly spaced slots made it easier to work with.

I cut each string to 15″. I don’t remember if I put 36 beads on each strand. I ended up using all but the last ones. The beaded portion of the braid is 5 3/8″ long, but the entire braid is 6″ long including the end caps. (This information probably isn’t useful to you unless you also have 5.5″ wrists.)

I have a correction to state about the desired length of the bracelet. The length of the bracelet alone does not determine its size. The width also matters. To illustrate, if you had two identical lengths of string and strung large beads on one and small beads on the other, the one with the larger beads would result in a smaller bracelet than the one with the small beads. That’s because the “inner circumference” of the bracelet determines the size. Since the larger beads take up more space than the smaller ones, they reduce the inner circumference of the bracelet. Here’s a diagram that I painstakingly made, to show this. Pay attention to the purple dashed line.

braceletSizeText

From this, we know that having a 7 inch long braid does not guarantee it’ll fit a 7-inch wrist, because the width of one of these kumihimo braids with beads is 7.5 mm.

After my first experience with gluing the end caps on, I knew to cut off more of the cord so that it will all be hidden inside the end caps. I did a better job this time.

P1130695q

I had actually made this bracelet about a year ago, and had this draft saved for months before finally posting it now. I have since made more elaborate kumihimo, which I will show in posts to come.

9 thoughts on “My second kumihimo bracelet

  1. Nicely done! I like that silver and blue combination and the design.

    I’ve been wanting to try kumihimo for several months – I even have a cheap book I found somewhere, a disc, a ton of beads (I make other kinds of jewelry so I always have boxes of beads), threads, and such – but I keep reading different ideas of how many beads to use and thread length so I keep putting off the time to just give it a shot.

    How easy is it to undo kumihimo? Like if you realize you’ve run out of beads sooner than expected, or just want to scrap the project altogether (like practicing, but want to use those same beads again for a proper project)?

    • Thank you!

      Kumihimo is very easy to undo. It will unravel on its own once removed from the disk, unless you knot the cords together. It’s also easy to add (or remove) beads, as long as your cords are long enough for your project.

      When I’m trying a new pattern or bead sizes for the first time, I usually cut each cord 2 ft long. I’ve found it’s more than enough for a bracelet. Since I don’t like to waste stringing materials, I take measurements and then adjust the lengths accordingly for future projects.

Share your thoughts

