How to get access to my personal site

I was surprised by the number of requests for access to my personal site, including some from usernames I didn’t immediately recognize. (Don’t worry, I won’t outright reject you. Read on to learn how you can gain access.) Thank you all for your interest. I honestly hadn’t expected any requests. I had only posted the link thinking a few regular readers of this site (who already have access but aren’t following that site) might want to revisit it.

I normally don’t share the link publicly. In the past, I’ve just told people to leave a comment saying they’re interested, and then I’ll send invites to those I felt comfortable letting in.

I have mentioned on my About page how to get access to my personal site, but apparently not everyone reads it. I’ll explain the process in more detail here.

The basic rule is: show me that you’re not a jerk. There have been people who have left comments that are snarky, disrespectful, racist, etc. on my public site. I won’t grant them access to the private one. People who constantly give unsolicited advice are also not welcome.

I just need to observe the types of comments you leave on this blog for some time before I feel comfortable letting you in. I know that it’s not always easy to come up with things to say, but you’re welcome to comment on my old posts. Leaving a thoughtfully written, relevant comment on my post shows me you’re truly interested in what I write. I’ve encountered too many people who follow a bunch of blogs just to try to get people to follow them in return. That’s why, if I’m not already following you, I’ll visit your site after you’ve left a relevant comment on one of my posts.

If you’re a lurker, meaning you just read and never comment, then sorry, I’m not going to grant you access. I don’t want my day to day life, struggles, and insecurities to only be a source of amusement for people. I want actual interaction. It takes me a while to warm up to people, but once I do, I am very loyal.

7 thoughts on “How to get access to my personal site

  1. I’m the same way. It takes me a while to trust new people, and I like for people who read my blog to give a darn about me. 🙂 seems like a reasonable request.

  2. Pingback: Why I haven’t been posting: some words on copyright | Musings of a Quirky Introvert

  3. Pingback: Why I haven’t been posting, and some words on copyright | Musings of a Quirky Introvert

  4. Pingback: I’m back | Musings of a Quirky Introvert

Share your thoughts

