Peace plate, redone

Last year I posted photos of a plate that I had made for my ceramics class in 2009. I had designed an ambigram of the word “peace” and spent an afternoon carving the design onto a slab plate. Unfortunately, it cracked during the firings, so I hoped to make another one if I ever had the chance.

peacePlateCrackedq

When I started ceramics again in November last year, I was in a luminary phase. This April, when I was feeling uninspired, I decided to attempt to make another plate with the peace ambigram. This time I had a nice square shaped plate to use as a mold. It was actually a compostable plate so I wrapped it in a plastic bag so the clay wouldn’t get stuck to it. I chose to orient the word diagonally across the plate so that it would be easier to detect the ambigram.

DSCF9223qI didn’t spend as much time carving the letters this time because I knew that once they got painted with underglaze, the details would get filled in and lost. It still was time consuming. I also made sure to not carve too deeply, as I think that might have started the crack in the other plate.

DSCF9316q

For those of you who want to know, the clay is B-mix with grog. I filled the letters in with AMACO Velvet Underglaze in Turquoise Blue (V-327) before the bisque firing, and then brushed on a clear glaze for the glaze firing. It was fired to cone 6. The clear glaze did form some bubbles, which are obvious over the letters, but it doesn’t bother me.

9 thoughts on “Peace plate, redone

Share your thoughts

