Scarlet flax

I was taking a walk one evening when some striking red flowers caught my eye. I didn’t have my camera with me, so the next morning I returned to the spot with the flowers. As I approached them, there was a jogger who had stopped to take photos of those same flowers, with his phone. I decided to keep walking, but after a few steps I turned around and saw the guy had continued running, so now it was my turn.

Unfortunately, the lighting was quite harsh, and as my boyfriend likes to say, “flower photography causes the wind to blow.” Given their thin, long stems, these flowers sway more than most in the wind. My shots from that morning were not good, so I returned at other times to take more photos.

After doing a search for red wildflowers online, I was able to identify these as scarlet flax (Linum grandiflorum).

P1100430cqb2I returned in the evening and discovered many of the flowers closed.

P1100384aqOne lone flower doesn’t look all that spectacular.

P1100304cqI agree with the descriptions that say these flowers look best when planted densely. (This was one of the photos taken in harsh light. The flowers have since been more sparse.)

P1100297eqActually, I think they look most beautiful when the stems are visible. After all, it was the whole plant (minus the roots) that caught my eye. Unfortunately, I don’t have a flattering picture of that.

P1100420q

3 thoughts on “Scarlet flax

Share your thoughts

