Essie Shearling Darling Vs Wicked

A few weeks ago I was at Grocery Outlet when I noticed they had bottles of Essie nail polish for $2.99. I have been abstaining from buying nail polish since I seldom wear it, but this was such a good deal that I couldn’t resist.

One of the colors that I bought was Shearling Darling. Ever since high school I have been in search of a burgundy colored nail polish, but most of the ones I’ve come across were too brown for my liking. I heard from my sister that Essie has a nice burgundy color, and that she recently got it. I texted her from the store, asking if this was the one. She didn’t reply until after I got home. Hers was Wicked.

I searched online for information on the colors that I bought. From what I saw, Shearling Darling was part of the Winter 2013 Collection. When Googling “Essie Shearling Darling,” one search term that popped up was “Essie Shearling Darling Vs Wicked.” Curious, I clicked on it. However, I couldn’t find a satisfactory answer. Most of the results were comments left on nail polish blogs (that reviewed one of the colors) asking how it compares to the other. The authors replied saying that they don’t have the other color. Given how similar the colors appear, it makes sense if someone doesn’t want to own both. Luckily, my sister and I each have a different color, so I set out to do a swatch so we’ll all have an answer! (If anyone still cares for colors from two years ago. 😛 )

I am not a nail polish blogger, and this is my first time ever trying to do something like this. It’ll be far from perfect, but I hope to give a satisfactory answer. Note that the same color will look different in different lighting, but you can see how the two compare side by side. All my photos were taken under natural light.

First, here are photos of the bottles in natural light.

P1100151cq

Wicked on left, Shearling Darling on right.

Here they are in bright, natural light.

Here are the bottles in bright, natural light. Wicked on left, Shearling Darling on right.

Wicked on left, Shearling Darling on right.

This is how they look on bare nails. One coat, and two coats.

1. One coat Wicked 2. Two coats Wicked 3. Two coats Shearling Darling 4. One coat Shearling Darling

1. One coat Wicked
2. Two coats Wicked
3. Two coats Shearling Darling
4. One coat Shearling Darling

Most people wear two coats, and I would, too, but I wanted to show how different the colors look at one coat, especially because they don’t resemble the second coat at all.

One coat. Shearling Darling on thumb. Wicked on index finger.

One coat. Shearling Darling on thumb. Wicked on index finger.

At one coat, Wicked has a berry blood look. But add another, and it’s much darker, almost black looking. One coat of Shearling Darling looks like a typical bing cherry. After a second coat, it looks like a very ripe, darker bing cherry.

P1100252cq

Same as above, but in slightly different lighting. Here Shearling Darling (ring finger) looks a deep maroon and Wicked (middle finger) looks coffee brown. Bottle is SD.

Here I am wearing two coats of Wicked on the index and middle fingers, and two coats of Shearling Darling on the ring finger and pinky.

There are two coats of Wicked on the index and middle fingers, and two coats of Shearling Darling on the ring finger and pinky.

Notice the difference? (Bottle is Wicked)

In low light, the two look almost indistinguishable, except Wicked is darker. It’s more black to Shearling Darling’s brown. The photo doesn’t show it well.

P1100350cq

In this photo, it’s hard to tell that I’m wearing two different colors. Wicked is on the index and middle fingers. Shearling Darling is on the ring finger and pinky.

At this point you can see how complicated it is to show the difference between these two colors. Although Shearling Darling isn’t the burgundy that I’ve been looking for, I prefer it over Wicked since it’s more red and not as black, so I’m happy to have it. I hope this post was informative and answers how Shearling Darling compares with Wicked. If you have any questions about these colors, please leave a comment and I will do my best to answer it.

© 2015 quirkyintrovert. All rights reserved.

Share your thoughts

