How to stop hiccups

This is a method that I learned many years ago from my geometry teacher, Mr. Story. I haven’t seen it anywhere else, so I’ve decided to share it here.

A student started hiccuping during class, so our teacher told her what to do to stop the hiccups, and it worked. Since then, I’ve done this many times myself, and it is quite effective. My estimate is that 95% of the time my hiccups are gone on the first try, 98% of the time on the second try, and usually they’re gone for good after the third attempt. This is from someone who hiccups quite a lot. There are some days when I have as many as five bouts of hiccuping.

What I like about this method is that you don’t need anything, like water or sugar, to do this. It’s convenient and can be done any time, anywhere. This is how it’s done:

  1. Exhale. Squeeze as much air out of you as possible. Do not breathe in yet.
  2. While holding your breath, swallow once or twice (or even three times).
  3. Now you can relax and breathe in, and your hiccups should be gone. If not, do steps 1 and 2 again.

It takes a bit of practice in the beginning, but after you get used to it, it’s not difficult at all, and you get relief from hiccups. Give it a try the next time you want to stop hiccuping! If you have any questions about this, let me know and I’ll do my best to clarify things.

Share your thoughts

