Hat with bear ears

After buying the lavender yarn, I thought of making Lee Bay another sweater. I was planning to make the bottom edge ribbed, and give stockinette stitch another try. I wondered if I should make it a hoodie, but then decided to make the hat separate, and that’s what I ended up making. It took me at least four tries before I got it to work.

The hat does make him top heavy.

He looks so adorable with the big ears! The hat makes him top heavy, so he falls over easily when wearing it. 😀

I first made the ears, by making a smaller version of the ears in this pattern. Then I was inspired to make the hooded part by this pattern for a hooded scarf with cat ears. Since Lee Bay’s ears are on the top of his head, I needed to make room for them in the hat. Otherwise, it would just look lumpy. That’s when I looked up how to make holes in knitting, and came across vertical button holes. That was just what I needed!

P1090428eq

Lee Bay is all snug and warm now, except for his bottom. His shape isn’t quite right for pants. Maybe the next thing I should knit for him is a onesie? 😛

It took me a few tries before I got an adequate number of decreases, so that the hat fit around his ears without extra bulk. Even though it was advised to use the tails to reinforce the button hole, I ended up not doing that, because it made the hole too tight for his ear. Besides, I wasn’t going to actually use it for a button, so it wasn’t going to be subjected to lots of wear. The hole also became tighter after I sewed the ears on.

P1090436eq

The ears often like to get pointy on their own, giving him cat ears (or horns). 😛

Lastly, I used mattress stitch to sew both halves of the hat together. It is a bit snug, so if I were to make another one for Lee Bay, I would add another stitch to both halves.

P1090427q

There is a visible line where I had taken it apart but put the stitches back on the needle in the wrong orientation. I’m learning.

I had actually finished making this three weeks ago, but for the past two weeks I have been extremely tired, which is why I haven’t gotten around to posting this until now.

14 thoughts on “Hat with bear ears

      • I see now that my comment may have come off as rude, but I assure you it wasn’t meant to. I apologize if it was taken that way.

        The teddy bear is absolutely adorable and I admire your handiwork.

      • I wasn’t so much offended as I was confused about how to interpret your comment. I thought I knew what you meant, as I have had similar thoughts before and have learned to say “one of the most” in such situations, but there was some ambiguity in the wording.
        I accept your apology and thank you for the compliments.

Share your thoughts

