Tree of Life Ornament

Last week I took a class to learn how to make a wire wrapped Tree of Life ornament.

P1080210cq

The second one that I made.

The instructor decided to teach it as an ornament since it would be larger and easier for people to manipulate the wires. She had also made the outer circles and cut the wire for us, since she wasn’t sure they’d have enough tools for everyone to use. That took a lot of the work out of it. The method she taught started it by twisting the wires together to form the trunk. (I was aware that there are two other methods: one that starts from the roots, and one that starts from the leaves.)

P1080180cq

The first one that I made.

All the materials were provided, so I didn’t have a choice in the color of the wire, and the color choice for the beads was limited as well. This was why, by the time I got to my second one, there weren’t enough purple beads for me to finish it entirely in purple. However, given how low the materials fee was, I didn’t mind that much.

P1080213cq

The larger one measures almost 2.5″ across. The smaller one has a 1.75″ diameter. The frame was 12 gauge wire and the tree was made from 26 gauge wire.

The wire wrapped Tree of Life is such an elegant design and it’s fun and easy to make. I definitely want to make more, and make them smaller so that they could be worn as pendants. I’m thinking of giving the bottom to top method a try. There is a pretty good tutorial at Instructables, if you’re interested in making your own.

7 thoughts on “Tree of Life Ornament

Share your thoughts

