Tiny origami

This is a repost of something I posted on Xanga on 3/30/2011.

Back in 2010, a friend from high school posted this link on my Facebook wall. I asked her why she shared it with me, and she said that the article reminded her of me because I used to fold tiny paper cranes.

Determined, I decided to see what I could do. That night I used a 0.5” by 0.5” piece of paper to fold a crane, using my fingernails because I didn’t have tweezers. The one pictured below is my second paper crane. It took fifteen minutes to make. The first one took a little longer but didn’t come out as well.

tinycrane

That is the tip of my left index finger, in case you were wondering what it could possibly look like. silly And yes, those are my initials. I put them there because I shared these photos on Facebook.

A few weeks later I decided to make miniature paper stars. I know that’s not the best picture, but it’s hard getting clear pictures of such tiny things. The smallest ones (blue and white) are 3 mm at the widest part.

IMG_5360cq

I thought it would be nice if I had a 1 inch tall glass bottle with a cork stopper to put the stars in. I would call it “The Magic Bottle” even though there really isn’t anything magical about it.

I tried making a tiny iris also out of a 0.5” by 0.5” paper, but it didn’t work because there are too many folds that become thick too quickly. It might work if I had really really thin paper. Maybe I’ll try tissue paper.

There’s more coming!

6 thoughts on “Tiny origami

  1. The little cranes are really pretty — the stars not so unique, but still pretty. You could put these on an etsy site, and I’ll bet they’d sell! I don’t think I’ve ever seen origame iris — will be interested to see them.

    • Thank you. My idea was to incorporate them into jewelry, but I later found out someone already has. I still will try to make mine unique. The iris didn’t work, but I have made other flowers.

  2. Wow, those are cool! I’ve done some origami with mixed results. I’m convinced that the books leave out a step just to foil me! I like the idea of a little magic bottle with the stars and a bit of glitter for extra magic!

    • Thank you! I have learned how to fold a few things by looking at online tutorials and watching videos. There are so many instructions online that if one isn’t clear, I try another one. I had thought of adding a bit of glitter to the magic bottle, so your suggestion confirms it’s a good idea!

Share your thoughts

