My favorite inanimate object

You may have seen pictures of Lee Bay on my blog before, but I have never actually introduced him, so now I will.

Meet Lee Bay!

I thought he looked very happy at the moment, so I took this photo.

Lee Bay is a 29-year-old plush bear that I love dearly. Please don’t ask me what his name means because I have no idea what my 3-year-old mind was thinking at the time. I also am not sure why he has always been a he-bear in my mind. To my amusement, last summer I learned that there is actually a place named Lee Bay!

My mom bought him at TG&Y for my sister, right around Easter of 1985, who later reluctantly ceded him to me. When I say Lee Bay is 29 years old, I mean that we’ve had him for that long. I don’t know how old he really is, but he definitely is older than I. Never did my mom imagine that this $2.99 plush bear would mean so much to me.


Pictures of Lee Bay from when he was new.

Although his fur has faded and fallen out in some areas, and the piece of felt that is his tongue became elongated (it fell off once and my sister stitched it back on), I think he is in pretty good condition for a stuffed animal his age (that children played with regularly).

Out of all inanimate objects, Lee Bay is my favorite. I don’t believe I will be able to find a replica, so he can’t easily be replaced. Unfortunately, the words on his tag have come off a long time ago, so I don’t have any information about him. All I know is that he was made in Korea. I am curious about the person who designed this bear. How did the designer come up with that face that draws me to him?

Unlike other toys that I eventually grew tired of, Lee Bay always looks fresh to me everyday. He stays on my bed, and I hug him and talk to him (even though he can’t respond). But he’s there for me when I am alone and feeling sad at night, so he is a good friend.

Lee Bay retouched.

Originally posted on Xanga 7/7/2011 at 4:30 PM
13 thoughts on “My favorite inanimate object

  1. He’s adorable! My 38 year old sister has a bear that looks somewhat similar to him, which she still takes everywhere. His name is Teddy. My mom has actually taken him apart and re stuffed and mended him several times.

    • Thank you! I’ve tried to find other bears that look like Lee Bay, and it seems as though it was common for plush bears in the early 1980s to have different colored muzzles and ears, but I have yet to find another one with the different color around the eyes. Re-stuffing is a good idea. Thanks for sharing.

  2. He’s so cute. I have a stuffed bear that was dear to my husband when he was a small child. He doesn’t have a name as far as I know, but I love him and take him with me when I go to my parents w/out my husband 😉 Loved this post. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Pingback: My Second Knit Project: Stuffed Animal Vest | Musings of a Quirky Introvert

      • I was convinced that all of Lee Bay’s “brothers and sisters” ended up in landfills long ago 😦 , so I am so surprised to learn that there is another one that is still cherished. Are the words on Bear’s tag still readable? Lee Bay’s tag has faded, so I don’t know the brand, which makes it hard to search for. I wish you luck in finding another Bear!

Share your thoughts

